//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I love Infographics – Margaret

Hi folks,

So, the first two lectures covered the history of infographic. It’s interesting to think that cave paintings and Egyptian heiroglyphics were in a way an early form of infographics! I found a timeline showing the evolution of infographic.

Image 

Guardian has more examples for old-day infographics. Check it out and see how cool they are!

We are all suffered from information overload. Out there, there are too many to read and pay attention to. When it comes to data, number or statistic, it further drives us crazy. But thanks to visualization of information, it allows me to see the pattern and the connection among matters.

Information now can turn into landscapes that I can explore with my eyes. I have personally indulged in collecting pieces of graphic in Pinterest and Internet.

Yea. Infographics always bring surprise to me and I am looking forward to learning more about this amazing story-telling tool!

Margaret Yee Man, NG

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I love Infographics – Margaret

  1. Very cool historical infographics. Neat to see the evolution of the craft over the decades. Seems like things have taken a much more data-oriented approach recently. Seems infographics are less and outlet for illustrations nowadays and more about hard, quantifiable numbers.

    That seems to be reinforced by the reading in the WSJ book. It very much (I think almost too much) puts the emphasis on nothing getting in the way of numbers. I think that is obviously the first priority, but the designer in me can’t entirely part ways with an attractive aesthetic that doesn’t distract from the graphic’s message. After all, that’s what encourages people to look at your graphic in the first place.

    -Will

    Posted by willguldin | September 2, 2012, 9:52 pm
  2. I agree. Information graphics decode data and transform them into pieces of art.
    I like your timeline on Neil Armstrong btw.

    Posted by qianruisha | September 3, 2012, 4:22 am
  3. I completely agree about visual information allowing us to better understand all of the information thrown at us every day. Your timeline example is very simple and easy to read, but I have to wonder if there is ever a good way to create a timeline that has 15+ dates listed and is interesting to the reader and keeps their attention. This is something I’m definitely hoping to come across in a shift at the Missourian this semester.

    Posted by LoganT | September 4, 2012, 12:18 pm

Leave a Reply

