//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Communicating through Visuals

My career as a visual communicator has allowed me to dabble in many different forms/media of communication. I have always been interested in understanding what type of communication best suits the message that one wants to communicate.

James’ lecture last week explored when text, photographs or infographics should be utilized to tell a story. The latter works as a bridge between images and text when neither is sufficient. My interest in this course stemmed from some very unusual and often comical graphics I have seen in music and art magazines. While I do appreciate the value in locator maps and bar graphs, I am more interested in using graphics for creative expression – something probably more suitable for VOX Magazine rather than the Missourian.

Rachel pointed out a great website that showcases some examples of what I’m referring to. A graphic like 5 better ways to spend $70 than a Nickelback concert ticket has no place in a newspaper – but is an expression of the artist’s dissatisfaction with a popular band. The major difference in graphics like these from those we discuss in class is utility. Would someone really use or learn from a graphic on on Nickelback? Probably not.

I am hoping that my final project for this semester can blend both utility and artistic expression. The subject matter is yet to be determined – but I would love to explore a project that puts a new spin on MU’s inaugural season in the Southeastern Conference.

Discussion

One thought on “Communicating through Visuals

  1. Like you, I want to make infographics that are both creative and useful. I’m also wondering how to take the mundane stuff, such as locator maps, to a higher level. And I’m curious to see how you might transcend routine assignments to achieve better-than-routine results. (No pressure.)

    On another note, just as you and James say that text, photos, and infographics are each best suited to conveying particular kinds of information, Donna Wong says that the various charts, pictograms, maps, and even tables, each have strengths and weaknesses. But maybe I’m comparing apples and oranges. I’ll make a pictogram and get back to you.

    Posted by Aaron Cooper | September 19, 2012, 3:48 am

Leave a Reply

