//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Happy to be here

The contours of a Sting Ray, the colors of a great Wired magazine cover, something about the D.C. Metro map. Design fascinates me, though I often can’t say why.  I became interested in information graphics, in particular, a few years ago, when I came across sites such as visualthesaurus.comsocialexplorer.com, and flowingdata.com.

In the future, I’d like to explore unusual data sets and unconventional ways of representing them. This semester, I hope to make clear, effective information graphics. And to have fun with design.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Happy to be here

  1. You remind me interactive metro map is also kind of infographic, even they are not in newspaper or news website!

    Posted by margaretnym | September 5, 2012, 3:32 am
  2. Hey Aaron, your first example of design fascinates me. I have always appreciated the brilliance behind creative industrial design (cars especially) and I think it is important to combine pleasing aesthetics with data or information-based visualizations. James’ submarine graphic that we saw in class today did that brilliantly.

    If you haven’t seen it yet – check out the automotive design of the BMW Gina @ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTYiEkQYhWY. It highlights the power in flexible thinking and innovation. I’m interested to see how your interest in unusual data sets lends itself to a final project!

    Posted by Philip Prouhet | September 5, 2012, 4:20 am
  3. I definitely like interactive metro maps. It combine valid data information, good organization of data and appealing visualization. Just as the reminder from Dona Wong that the three essential elements for good infographic are rich content, inviting visualization, and sophisticated execution.

    Interactive Metro Map in Hong Kong(my hometown http://mtr.com.hk/jplanner/flash_chi/index.php) always help me to manage my trip within the shortest time(as it clear and complete) and most easy way(best execution).

    Posted by margaretnym | September 5, 2012, 6:03 am
  4. I love those websites in cite in your post, and I feel like those graphics are so attractive. Following those weeks’ study, I find myself read more and more graphic websites than before. I think it is a good habit to read more and think more. Thank you for your share.

    Posted by cinray | September 17, 2012, 1:12 am

Leave a Reply

