//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Logan 1/8

I like to consider myself as “creative.” Sometimes, I end up being creative by first being inspired by someone elses creativity. It is inforgraphics like this one (http://www.flickr.com/photos/rajkamalaich/3867840522/in/pool-datavisualization) that get the wheels rolling in my head for making infographics. After the first two weeks and having one shift at the Missourian, I’ve really enjoyed this class and learning how to better use the software. I think the podcasts and tutorials have been very helpful even though they are from someone outside of class. 

 

About LoganT

Originally from Dallas, I am continuing to create myself in Columbia, Missouri at the School of Journalism. A full-time producer for Newsy.com and creating numerous works in varying forms of media. I've finally convinced people to buy my time, or at least my work, and much sooner than I thought :) Watch my at Newsy.com, the Huffington Post, Mashable and YouTube!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Logan 1/8

  1. I like the graphic you chose, because its creative, concise and informative. However, the images are a little bit discomforting.

    The tines (charts) of the forks creep me out. Their unevenness looks like the forks are broken and ragged sharp, in other words dangerous to touch and put in one’s mouth.

    If you buy into my viewpoint, then one lesson is to consider how your audience will relate to a graphic’s design on an emotional level. Food for thought.

    Posted by Matt_Schacht | September 5, 2012, 2:06 am
  2. I see what Matt means about the forks looking jagged, but I’m not sure how much of a negative or disconcerting impact it would have on readers/viewers. I think the cleverness and creativity in something like this could potentially prevent people from making the more literal correlation between the fact that it’s a fork and that the bars are uneven or jagged, but that might just be me.

    I like that it’s got a really clean layout that has become the norm in a lot of modern design and delivers what could normally be unexciting information into something that fascinates. It seems like it falls in the healthy midsection of the visual-data continuum shown on pages 34 and 35 of the Wong book. The simple color scheme and lighter typography keep that clean visual as well.

    Also, I really like what you say about the emotional, more carnal, impact of graphics. Aside from presenting the data clearly, it is interesting to consider whether the design itself leaves a bad taste in people’s mouths on more than an organizational level.

    Posted by esst2d | September 5, 2012, 4:56 am

Leave a Reply

