//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Food graphics – the good, the bad, and the ugly

Image

I like a graphic about why people enjoy gingerbread. The story of why we enjoy gingerbread is an amusing topic that is cleverly told as one scrolls down the page.

“Well it goes well with tea.”

“Gingerbread is sweet”

“Gingerbread people exist in our favorite stories and cartoons”

etc

What I don’t like about the gingerbread graphic is that it doesn’t really have a resolution. I’m not sure how one ends a story about gingerbread appeal, but ending with advice that cookies make you fat is a little irritating.

I think the graphic should have kept its simple charm by telling us more about why we like ginger bread, rather than delving into why we shouldn’t enjoy cookies too much.

Next is a graphic that puts images of food into each state of the United States. I like the image of putting food into states, as a way of saying something about the culture and business of each state. The food placed in the states seems random though.

For instance, why does Minnesota contain a Breakfast Burrito? Why is Tennessee full of tomatoes? These are questions the graphic fails to answer.

Without offering an explanation of why certain foods are connected to certain states, this graphic causes more confusion than clarity. For this reason, the state-food graphic is my bad graphic.

If you’re looking at my post’s title and wondering what my ugly graphic is…I don’t have one. I just wanted to use that title.

 

 

 

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Food graphics – the good, the bad, and the ugly

  1. I just can’t get into these big tower graphics. This one is better than the one I posted about, because it tells a story, but it doesn’t have enough information to justify its existence. All that could come across in a paragraph.

    I’m probably too serious when it comes to this stuff though. Space doesn’t matter as much online, and it is a clever look at gingerbread. Also, completely agree on the food map. Arkansas is “jelly pie”?! First off, what the heck is a jelly pie, and secondly I can promise I’ve never seen that on any menu back home.

    -Will

    Posted by willguldin | October 16, 2012, 4:38 pm
  2. I agree that it is kind of upset to see at the end that gingerbread will add weight. So maybe I will just skip the part of how to make it since I don’t wanna be fat. And also instead of inserting text introducing the methods of making gingerbread, maybe more illustrations can do the job instead.

    — Qing Tian

    Posted by qtp8c | October 16, 2012, 5:18 pm
  3. I enjoy this kind of graphic a lot. I don’t know if they could fall into the news graphic category, because they don’t really have stories in them. Maybe they’re merely for fun, or for limited information only. Given this nature, they are often not very informative or in-depth, not accurate or merely based on personal opinions, and focus more on appearance than on content. The second one you mentioned, the food state, can be misleading to foreigners like me. As you pointed out, it’s based on one major city within that state, and some selections are just not right. Still I enjoy reading them. They’re interesting, and there’re always some truth in them.

    Posted by qianruisha | October 16, 2012, 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

