//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Impressed by The Scale of the Universe

The Scale of the Universe is an interactive infographic that allows you to scroll through data from smallest quantum foam, all the way to the estimated size of the entire universe as a whole.

 

from this website: http://scaleofuniverse.com

 

 

This interactive graphic is so amazing and I spent a good hour just scrolling through, reading and being amazed by what they could compare. I love the design of this tool. It is simple, but beautiful. I normally find these sorts of distances (both small and large) mind boggling, but something about the way it’s all neatly contained on the slider makes it seem like it can fit into my mind better. It gives you a perfect recognizable about things at every scale.

My favorite part is scrolling through and see all the objects flashing during a very quick slide back and forth. I feel ill equipped to describe how wonderful this is. The images, the beautiful music and the truly awesome scale of reality. I feel so insignificant in the universal and very privileged to live in this time and admire the beauty of our existence.

Optional function that i would look forward to having is users can type in a size or an object name, and the interactive graphic can use that as an reference and tell me what exactly the size of an objects. Just like, when I type in “Tennis ball”, and the graphic could tells me the Earth is made up of 10xxx trillions tennis balls. That would be funny and awesome to know. 🙂

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Impressed by The Scale of the Universe

  1. This is so cool!! I love it!! So impressed by the amount of information it contains. The best part is to scroll very smoothly, scan over all the info and find the ones I want to stay on. I feel comfortable selecting the info. I can use not only mouse to drag on the screen, but also the tap key on the keyboard. It’s just really user friendly. On each page (I am not sure how to refer all the images), the objects are arranged in a simple and clean way. It’s just really good to look at and I feel engaged!!

    Posted by maolingxiong | October 30, 2012, 6:38 pm
  2. WAW! I like it a lot. The graphics contains tons of information with so many different icons. However, with the interactive feature, I don’t feel be overwhelming at all. On the contrast, it is really fun to read. After scroll it a little bit, I was so surprised by the scale of university. I like the idea a lot, and I think it is a well-done interactive graphic.

    Posted by cinray | October 30, 2012, 11:35 pm
  3. The other commentators said it; I’ll say it too – WOW.

    Here’s an entire year of high school science in a single graphic. A teacher could use this video to show kids how big and small confirmed existence is.The teaching possibilities are ringing in my brain. Thanks for sharing this cool experience.

    Posted by Matt_Schacht | November 1, 2012, 4:21 am

Leave a Reply

